By Vusi Kama

It was a night when the stars came out to shine, with the brightest in the firmament earning deserved accolades at the North West Sports Awards on November 18.

Held at the Mmabatho Convention Centre, the glittering event was hosted by Skeem Saam soapie star, Tshepo Senatle, and award-winning sportscasters, You FM’s Karabo Mokgalagadi and Motsweding FM’s Oatile Jacobs.

With guests dressed to the nines, the event is a highlight in the sporting calendar of the Province. The annual event is organised jointly by the Department of Arts, Culture, Sports and Recreation (Acsr) and the North West Sports Confederation.

Comrades Marathon kings of the road Tete Dijane (Premier’s Award) and Edward Mothibi (MEC Excellence Award) were big winners on the night, while Atisang Batsi was the people’s choice, having been voted by the public Sports Star of the Year.

The rest of the winners are:

Sports administrator of the year (Onalenna Tsae);  Sportsman of the year (Tshepo

Tshitse); Sportsman of the year with disability (Leon Els); Sportswoman of the Year ( Elmere van der Berg); Sportswoman of the year with disability (Linda Bosele); Sports team of the year (Orbit College Football Club).

Young athlete of the year (Kamohelo Moncho); Coach of the year (Thabo Bontsi); Volunteer of the year (Azwindini Steven Makananise); Indigenous games team of the year (North West Kgati); Provincial federation of the year (North West Cricket); Community-based sports and recreation programme of the year (Saving Lives Foundation); School sport team of the year (MM Sebitloane Special School); Rural team of the year (Khumo Sejo Secondary School);

Journalist of the year in print media was Mohanoe Khiba, with Journalist of the year in electronic media award going to Mosela Mokgosi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *